GAIN Home
Agribusiness Resources (Listed by Topic)
Frequently Asked Questions
 

GAIN - Agribusiness Resources by Agency

We have compiled a listing of resources on a variety of topics that might be relevant to your situation. Click on an agency below to go directly to a list of that agency's resources.

N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/

Agribusiness Development: Whether yours is an existing agribusiness ready for expansion, or a new idea for a value-added agricultural product, our agribusiness developers can provide you with assistance in business planning or expansion, financing and site location.  We partner with other agencies to provide you with a comprehensive approach to developing your business.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/agribiz

Ron Fish, Assistant Director
(919) 707-3119
ron.fish@ncagr.gov

Annette Dunlap, Agribusiness Developer, Eastern NC
(919) 707-3117
annette.dunlap@ncagr.gov

Robert Grooms, Agribusiness Developer, Western NC
(828) 670-7518
robert.grooms@ncagr.gov

Agritourism: The Agritourism Office helps farmers increase their income and consider options available in agritourism to market and/or enlarge their farms. Through workshops, the office also makes information available on topics such as insurance, highway signage and local regulatory issues, and publicizes to the public ways visitors can find agritourism farms, all in an effort to stimulate the farm and rural economy.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/agritourism/index.htm

Martha Glass, Manager
(919) 707-3120
martha.glass@ncagr.gov

Aquaculture: Aquaculture is the farming of fish and aquatic plants. NCDA&CS is the state’s lead agency to offer guidance and assistance in the development of aquaculture business.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/aquaculture/index.htm

Warm Water
Pete Anderson (office in New Bern)
(252) 633-1477
pete.anderson@ncagr.gov

Cold Water
Debra Sloan (office in Franklin)
(828) 524-1264
debra.sloan@ncagr.gov

Dairy: North Carolina has embarked on a strategic plan to promote the development of dairies within the state.  Find out about the state’s plan and determine whether or not it provides you with a potential business opportunity.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/commodit/dairy/index.htm
Steven C. Lathrop, Dairy Specialist
(336) 402-5817 or (919) 707-3130
steven.lathrop@ncagr.gov

Green Industry: The state’s green industry includes nursery, landscape, herbs, turfgrass and sod, and Christmas trees. NCDA&CS agribusiness development and green industry specialists can work with you to identify business opportunities in this agricultural area.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/commodit/horticul/greenind/index.htm

Nick Augostini, Assistant Director
Marketing Division
(919) 707-3125
nick.augostini@ncagr.gov

Horticulture: Whether you are considering growing fruits and vegetables for the farmers market, looking for larger market opportunities or thinking about organic certification, NCDA&CS Horticulture Marketing Specialists can provide you with current information about fertility, crop selection and market information.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/commodit/horticul/index.htm
Nick Augostini, Assistant Director
(919) 707-3125
nick.augostini@ncagr.gov

Livestock: North Carolina offers many opportunities to develop a successful livestock business.  NCDA&CS livestock specialists provide guidance on developing a dairy or beef cattle herd, or raising sheep, goats or swine.  The Department’s Livestock Section has several resources available to help you make your business decisions.

http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/livestock/index.htm
Neil Bowman, Manager
(919) 707-3146
neil.bowman@ncagr.gov

Meat & Egg Marketing: Are you processing your animals and marketing meat or processed items?  NCDA&CS can provide you with current information concerning the marketing of meat items.

Kim Decker, Marketing Specialist
(919) 707-3116
kim.decker@ncagr.gov

Small Farms: NCDA&CS provides assistance for owners of small farms.  The Small Farms section offers expertise on crop selection, insurance options, and market opportunities.

Cliff Sutton , Small Farms Specialist
(919) 707-3068
cliff.sutton@ncagr.gov

Legal Issues: 

Tina Hlabse , Legal Affairs
(919) 707-3013
tina.hlabse@ncagr.gov

N.C. State University

N.C. State University Plants for Human Health Extension Team - http://plantsforhumanhealth.ncsu.edu/extension/overview

The N.C. Cooperative Extension Service houses a multidisciplinary group of professionals at the N.C. Research Campus in Kannapolis as part of the Plants for Human Health Institute. Providing expertise in farm business management, communications and marketing, and fresh produce safety, these Cooperative Extension staff serve as an outreach component to complement the research conducted at the institute.

The N.C. Value-Added Cost Share Program also housed at the N.C. Research Campus provides assistance with feasibility studies, business structure and business planning as well as cost-share to agricultural producers and processors for equipment for adding or expanding value-added agriculture products. Learn more at http://www.ncvacs.org.

Jonathan Baros, Extension Economist
(704) 250-5458
jonathan_baros@ncsu.edu

Blake Brown, Extension Economist & Professor
(704) 250-5404
blake_brown@ncsu.edu

Agricultural and Resource Economics - http://www.ag-econ.ncsu.edu/

The Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics addresses important issues regarding the management of agricultural and related businesses, the functioning of agricultural markets, the protection and use of resources, the performance of government policies affecting agricultural and related industries, and the impacts of decisions made by consumers with respect to the purchase of food and fiber products.

Blake Brown - peanuts, tobacco, cotton, policy and farm management
(704) 250-5404
blake_brown@ncsu.edu

Ed Estes - vegetable marketing/management, farmers' markets, alternative/specialty crops
(919) 515-4553
ed_estes@ncsu.edu

Ted Feitshans - agricultural and environmental law
(919) 515-5195
ted_feitshans@ncsu.edu

Arnie Oltmans - agricultural finance, farm/tax seminar
(919) 515-4546
arnie_oltmans@ncsu.edu

Nick Piggott - grain marketing and international trade
(919) 515-4668
nick_piggott@ncsu.edu

Rod Rejesus - applied production economics, crop insurance, and agricultural technology assessment
(919) 513-4605
rod_rejesus@ncsu.edu

Mitch Renkow - rural economic and community development, waste management
(919) 515-5179
mitch_renkow@ncsu.edu

Charles Safley - marketing/management for fruits, ornamentals, Christmas trees, turf/garden center retailing
(919) 515-4538
charles_safley@ncsu.edu

Guido Van der Hoeven - income taxes, agricultural finance, farm planning, farm information system
(919) 515-9071
guido_vdh@ncsu.edu

Tom Vukina - poultry industry organization/management/marketing, environmental/resource economics
(919) 515-5864
tom_vukina@ncsu.edu

Kelly Zering - swine management/marketing, waste management
(919) 515-6089
kelly_zering@ncsu.edu

OFF CAMPUS – John M. O’Sullivan - farm management, small farms
(336) 334-7957
johno@aurora.ncat.edu

Animal Science Extension - http://www.cals.ncsu.edu/an_sci/extension/swine

Dr. Todd See, Professor and Interim department head
(919) 515-8797
Todd_See@ncsu.edu

Poultry Science Extension - http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/poulsci

Mike Wineland, Department Extension Leader
(919) 515-5529
mike_wineland@ncsu.edu

Kathy Bunton, Area Specialized Poultry Agent, Wilkes County
(704) 878-3154
Kathy_bunton@ncsu.edu

Dan Campeau, Area Specialized Poultry Agent, Chatham County
(919) 542-8202
dan_campeau@ncsu.edu

Richard Goforth, Area Specialized Poultry Agent, Union County
(704) 283-3801
richard_goforth@ncsu.edu

James Parsons, Area Specialized Poultry Agent, Duplin County
(910) 296-2143
james_parsons@ncsu.edu

Tom Vukina, Poultry Economist
(919) 515-5864
tom_vukina@ncsu.edu

Aquaculture Extension - http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/nreos/wild/aquaculture/

Warm Water
Harry Daniels, Extension Aquaculture Specialist
(919) 515-4589
harry_daniels@ncsu.edu

Mike Frinsko, Area Aquaculture Agent, Jones Co. NCCES Office
(252) 448-9621 x228
mike_frinsko@ncsu.edu

Steve Gabel, Area Aquaculture Agent, Chowan Co. NCCES Office
(252) 482-6585
steve_gabel@ncsu.edu
Steve Gabel's Web site

Cold Water
Jeff Hinshaw, Extension Aquaculture Specialist,
Mountain Horticultural Crops Research & Extension Center
(828) 684-3562
jeff_hinshaw@ncsu.edu

Skip Thompson, Area Aquaculture Agent, Haywood Co. NCCES Office
(828) 456-3575
skip_thompson@ncsu.edu
Trout Production in North Carolina

Molly Sandfoss, Area Aquaculture Agent, McDowell Co. NCCES Office
(828) 652-7121
molly_sandfoss@ncsu.edu

Recirculating Systems
Tom Losordo, Extension Aquaculture Specialist
(919) 515-6784
tom_losordo@ncsu.edu

Dennis DeLong, Extension Aquaculture Specialist
(919) 513-2106
dennis_delong@ncsu.edu

Dairy  Extension - http://www.cals.ncsu.edu/an_sci/extension/dairy/Dairyh~1.htm

Steve Washburn, reproduction and management
(919) 515-7726
Fax: (919) 515-6884
Steve_Washburn@ncsu.edu

Shannon Davidson, Extension Dairy Animal Science Extension Specialist
Nutrition, forage and feeding management
(919) 515-4045
Fax: (919) 515-2152
shannon_davidson@ncsu.edu

Brinton A.  Hopkins, Professor & Extension Dairy Specialist
Dairy cattle nutrition and feeding; dairy heifer growth and performance
(919) 515-7592
Fax: (919) 515-2152
Brinton_Hopkins@ncsu.edu

Lon Whitlow, Professor Emeritus
Dairy cattle nutrition and feeding management; toxicology and mycotoxins; nutritional disorders; program coordination
(919) 515-7602
Lon_Whitlow@ncsu.edu

Greg Bethard, Assistant Director, Dairy Records Management Systems
Provides leadership to dairy records management sysstems in dairy analytics and technology
(919) 661-6168
Fax: (919) 661-3145
greg_bethard@ncsu.edu

Martina Day, Area Dairy Specialist, Chatham County
(919) 542-8202
marti_day@ncsu.edu

Gary Cartwright, Pilot Plant Coordinator
Dairy Products Processing
919-513-2488
gcart@unity.ncsu.edu

Michael T. Roberts, Extension Associate, Dairy Production and Marketing
N.C. Research Campus
600 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
Phone: 704-250-5429
Fax: 704-250-5409
E-mail: mtrobert@ncsu.edu

Horticulture
County Cooperative Extension Centers - http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/index.php?page=countycenters

Livestock
County Cooperative Extension Centers - http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/index.php?page=countycenters

Agritourism
Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
RM 3028 Biltmore Hall, Box 8004 NCSU, Raleigh NC 27695-8004
Phone: (919) 515-4260
Fax: (919) 515-3687
tourismextension@ncsu.edu

Small Farms Development - Chatham County Extension

http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/chatham/ag/SustAg/pasturedpoultry.html

Debbie Roos, Growing Small Farms
(919) 542-8202
debbie_roos@ncsu.edu

N.C. A&T State University

N.C. A&T State University Alternative Enterprises - http://www.ncat.edu/academics/schools-colleges1/saes/cooperative-extension/Programs/alternative-enterprises.html

This program provides extension educational resources to small-scale producers about the selection of and development of alternative enterprises. These enterprises are primarily horticultural but also include livestock, nursery and aquaculture.

Keith Baldwin, Horticulture Specialist
(336) 334-7957
Kbaldwin@ncat.edu

Community Supported Agriculture - http://www.ncat.edu/academics/schools-colleges1/saes/cooperative-extension/Programs/community-supported-agriculture.html

Technical assistance to county-based extension personnel who work directly with growers who deal with planning and marketing issues associated with existing community supported agriculture (CSA) or subscription sales.

Farm Management for successful direct marketing - http://www.ncat.edu/academics/schools-colleges1/saes/cooperative-extension/Programs/farm-management.html

This program provides educational resources to improve farm business management skills so that limited resource, small and part-time farmers can increase their income from direct marketing.

John O'Sullivan, Sustainable Agriculture Coordinator
(336) 334-7957
johno@ncat.edu

Farmers Adopting Computer Training (FACT)http://www.ncat.edu/academics/schools-colleges1/saes/cooperative-extension/Programs/fact.html

This project is designed to train farm families one-on-one or in group settings how to use computers for their farming operations in order to become more competitive in the marketplace.

Courtney T. Owens , Extension Associate
(336) 285-4623
ctowens@ncat.edu

Francis Walson, Extension Associate
(336) 334-7956
walson@ncat.edu

Small-Scale Production of Horticulture, Flowers and Fruits - http://www.ncat.edu/academics/schools-colleges1/saes/cooperative-extension/Programs/small-scale-horticulture.html

This program provides extension educational resources to small-scale producers about production practices to improve small-scale production of horticultural vegetables, flowers and fruit.

Keith Baldwin, Horticulture Specialist
(336) 334-7957
Kbaldwin@ncat.edu

Successful Small Farming, Direct Marketing - http://www.ncat.edu/academics/schools-colleges1/saes/cooperative-extension/Programs/successful-farming-marketing.html

This program offers educational resources through the North Carolina Cooperative Extension system to improve the direct marketing skills of limited-resource farmers.

John O'Sullivan, Sustainable Agriculture Coordinator
(336) 334-7957
johno@ncat.edu

N.C. Agricultural Finance Authority

Programs available include:  Farmers having difficulty qualifying for conventional loans, Beginning Farmer Loan Program, Agricultural Development Bonds, Facilities Disaster Loans, Agribusiness Loans.

Frank Bordeaux, Executive Director
(919) 790-3949
frank.bordeaux@ncagr.gov

USDA Farm Service Agency

The Farm Service Agency administers and manages farm commodity, credit, conservation, disaster and loan programs as laid out by Congress through a network of federal, state and county offices.

http://www.fsa.usda.gov/FSA/stateoffapp?mystate=nc&area=home&subject=landing&topic=landing

USDA Rural Development

Provides loan guarantees and direct loans for expansions and preservation of jobs in rural areas, grants which provide funding for technical assistance, training, and planning activities; finance the development of small and emerging private business enterprises, for the development incubator projects, medical and training projects, and feasibility studies, services to assist rural residents in forming new cooperative businesses and improving the operations of existing cooperatives.  Value-Added Program grants enable producers of agricultural commodities to participate in the value-added market. Renewable Energy Grants enable agricultural producers and small businesses to purchase renewable energy systems and make energy improvements to reduce the cost and consumption of the nation's energy needs.

http://www.rurdev.usda.gov/nc/

N.C. Community College System

http://www.cclinc.ncccs.cc.nc.us/

Career Counciling/Retraining/Job skills
http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/studentSupportServices.htm

Small Business Development - http://www.sbcn.nc.gov/
Contact the Small Business Center at your local community college.

Rural Advancement Foundation International

The Rural Advancement Foundation International provides financial planning assistance and advocates for the farmer to lenders and other agencies.

http://www.rafiusa.org/
PO Box 640, Pittsboro, NC 27312
Phone: (919) 542-1396
Fax: (919) 542-0069

Land Loss Prevention Project

The Land Loss Prevention Project, a nonprofit organization, provides legal assistance and support throughout North Carolina to financially distressed and limited-resource farmers, landowners and homeowners seeking to protect their land and livelihoods and advance their farming businesses.

http://www.landloss.org/
P.O. Box 179
Durham, NC 27702
1-800-672-5839 or (919) 682-5969
Fax: (919) 688-5596

N.C. Home Protection Program and Loan Fund

The North Carolina Home Protection Program and Loan Fund helps workers who lose their jobs as the result of changing economic conditions avoid foreclosure of their homes. Created by the General Assembly in 2004 and operated by the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency, the program was recently expanded to assist workers who have lost their jobs in all 100 counties.

http://www.nchfa.com/Homebuyers/index.aspx
North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
3508 Bush Street
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 877-5700

N.C. Division of Mental Health Services

The emotional impact of traumatic events can have devastating effects on the mental well-being of individuals of all ages. For many, it is easy to focus all energies on helping other people or on maintaining daily schedules and routines. Although these efforts deserve attention, it is important to remember to take care of yourself and to monitor your own emotions during difficult times.

http://www.dhhs.state.nc.us/MHDDSAS/lmedirectory.htm

N.C. Division of Social Services

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dss/local/

The Division of Social Services provides training, technical assistance, and consultation to the local staff who work in programs for families and children including Child Welfare, Family Support, Work First, Child Support, and Food and Nutrition Services.

Additional Resources for Exploring New Opportunities:

Agricultural Marketing Resource Center, Ames Iowa

The Agricultural Marketing Resource Center is an electronic, national resource for producers interested in value-added agriculture.

1111 NSRIC
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-3310
1-866-277-5567
http://www.agmrc.org/

Business Link North Carolina

Business Link North Carolina can connect you to services and offering provided by state-supported agencies, many of which are free.

1-800-228-8443
http://www.blnc.gov/

N.C. Small Business & Technology Center

The Small Business & Technology Development Center is The University of North Carolina’s business and technology extension service. The SBTDC is administered by N.C. State University on behalf of The University of North Carolina System, and is operated in partnership with the U.S. Small Business Administration.

5 West Hargett Street, Suite 600
Rleigh, NC 27601-1348
Phone: (919) 715-7272 or toll-free in N.C. 1-800-258-0862
Fax: (919) 715-7777
http://www.sbtdc.org/services/start.asp

N.C. Dairy Producers Association

Norman Jordan Jr., President
kjordan358@gmail.com

Cory Lutz , Vice President
(704) 735-1222
piedmontjerseys@charter.net

N.C. Farm Bureau

Chester Lowder, Livestock Director
(919) 788-1016
chester.lowder@ncfb.org

 

Page updated June 24, 2013