Technical and Research Contacts

N.C. State University:

  • Sara Spayd, Professor, Department of Horticulture Science, Kilgore Hall 258, Box 7609, NCSU Campus, Raleigh, NC  27695, Work (919) 513-0772, Fax (919)515-2505, sara_spayd@ncsu.edu
  • Julia Kornegay, PhD, Department Head, Department of Horticultural Science, Box 7609, NCSU, Raleigh, NC  27695-7609, Work (919) 515-3131, Fax (919) 515-3191 
  • David Monks, PhD, Assistant Director of Research, NCARS, Department of Horticultural Science, Box 7609, NCSU, Raleigh, NC  27695-7609, Work (919) 515-5370, Fax (919) 515-2505, david_monks@ncsu.edu
  • Tom Monaco, PhD, Department Head, Horticultural Science, Box 7609, NCSU, Raleigh, NC  27695-7609, Work (919) 515-1187, Fax (919) 515-2505, tom_monaco@ncsu.edu
  • David Ritchie, PhD, Professor of Plant Pathology, NCSU Box 7616, Raleigh, NC  27695-7616, david_ritchie@ncsu.edu
  • Jim Ballington, PhD, Director NCSU Small Fruit Center, Department of Horticultural Science, Box 7609, NCSU, Raleigh, NC  27695-7609, Work (919) 515-1214, Fax (919) 515-2505, jim_ballington@ncsu.edu
  • Gina Fernandez, Small Fruit Specialist, NCSU, 207 Research Station Rd., Vernon James Center, Plymouth, NC  27962, Phone (252) 793-4428 ext 167, Fax (252) 793-5142, gina_fernandez@ncsu.edu
  • Terry Garwood, NCSU Extension Agent – Northwest District, 876 Lithia Springs Road, Moravian Falls, NC  28654, (336) 401-8025, tgardood@surry.ces.ncsu.edu
  • Leonard Hicks, NCSU, Agricultural Technician, PO Box 460, Danbury, NC 27016-0060, Work (910) 593-8179, Fax (910) 593-8790, lhicks@stokes.ces.ncsu.edu

Additional Resources:

  • Debbie Hamrick, North Carolina Farm Bureau, PO Box 27766, Raleigh, NC  27611, Work (919) 782-1705, Fax (919) 783-3593
  • Terry Bland, Muscadines & Blueberries, Horticultural Crops Research Station, 3800 Castle Hayne Road, Castle Hayne, NC 28429, Work (910) 675-2314, Fax (910 675-0242, terry_bland@ncsu.edu
  • Jeff Bloodworth, Grape Breeder, 2311 Hermitage Road, Hillsborough, NC  27278, Home/Work (919) 732-1629, Fax (919) 644-1059, grapjb@mindspring.com

Appalachian State University:

  • Dr. Seth Cohen, Director, Fermentation Science, ASU Box 32163, Boone, NC 28608, cohensd@appstate.edu, 828-262-8345
  • Hollis Price, Wine Analysis Coordinator, ASU Enology and Viticulture, Boone, NC 28608, priceeh@appstate.edu, 828-406-6014

Surry Community College:

  • Gill Giese, Surry Community College, Viticulturist, PO Box 304, 630 South Main Street, Dobson, NC 27017, Work (336) 386-3461, gieseg@surry.net

Virginia Tech University

  • Tony Wolf, PhD, Professor of Viticulture, AHS Jr. Agricultural Research and Extension Center, 595 Laurel Grove Rd., Winchester, VA 22602 (540) 869-2560, ext 20, Fax (540) 869-0862, vitis@mail.vt.edu
  • Bruce Zoecklein, PhD, VA Tech, Food Science, Blacksburg, VA 24061, Work (540) 231-5325, Fax (540) 231-9293, bzoeckle@vt.edu

end of section