Plant Industry Home
Plant Protection Home
Plant Conservation
Program Home
Mission
Permits
Ginseng
Plant Protection and Conservation Act
Regulations
NC Plant Conservation Board Members
NC Plant Conservation Scientific Committee
Protected Plants
Partners

Plant Industry - Plant Protection Section -
Plant Conservation Program

Plant Conservation Board

As stated in the Plant Protection and Conservation Act, The PCP Board consists of seven members. The Governor appoints a representative from the N.C. Botanical Garden, the botanical, scientific community of N.C., the N.C. Division of Forest Resources, and a N.C. citizen’s conservation organization. The Commissioner appoints a representative from the commercial plant production industry in N.C., the Department of Agriculture, and the N.C. public at large. Each member is appointed to serve a four-year term.

In summary, the powers and duties of the Board are:
(a) to publish a list of endangered species, threatened species, and species of special concern;
(b) to revise the lists when necessary;
(c) to regulate shipment of species on the protected plant list;
(d) to regulate any exotic species that may appear on the Federal Endangered or Threatened Species list;
(e) to regulate and forbid sale or collection of certain plant species growing in N.C.;
(f) to conduct investigations to determine if a plant should be listed;
(g) to adopt regulations to protect and conserve any protected plant;
(h) to establish programs for endangered and threatened plant species consistent with the Endangered Species Act, including the acquisition of land or aquatic habitats;
(i) to enter into and administer cooperative agreements through the Commissioner of Agriculture with other federal, State, or private conservation organizations concerning protected plant species and their conservation and management;
(j) to cooperate with any federal government or other state agency for the purpose of enforcing these provisions;
(k) to receive funds, issue grants, enter contracts, employ personnel, or purchase supplies to fulfill its duties;
(l) to publicize regulations under which permits may be issued to licensed nurserymen, growers, or botanical gardens for the sale or distribution of protected plants, provided that they are nursery propagated and grown from seed or by vegetative propagation, and that the plants bear the grower’s permit number.


North Carolina Plant Conservation Board Members

Ms. Katherine K. Schlosser, Chairperson
1402 Bearhollow Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
Phone: 336-855-8022, Cell: 336-708-3852
Fax: 336-299-6631
Email: kathyschlosser@triad.rr.com

Represents: Public at Large
Term Expires: 9/30/2016
Commissioner Appointed

Mr. Les Hunter, Vice Chair
NCDENR - Forest Resources
1616 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1616
Phone: 919-857-4833
Fax: 919-857-4805
Email: Les.Hunter@ncagr.gov

N. C. Division of Forest Resources
Term Expires: 09/30/2015
Governor Appointed

Mr.Stephen (Steve) K. Henson, RF
Mountain Region Tree Farm Coordinator
206 Caring Place Loop
Clyde, NC 28721
Phone: 828-506-4876
Email: shenson1@charter.net

 

Represents: Citizen's Conservation Organization Effective 1/22/2014
Term Expires: 9/30/2017
Governor Appointed

 

Dr. Peter White, Director
North Carolina Botanical Garden
UNC Chapel Hill
CB #3375, Totten Center
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3375
Phone: 919-962-0522, 919-962-6939
Email: pswhite@unc.edu


Represents: N.C. Botanical Garden
Term Expires: 9/30/2013
Governor Appointed

 

Dr. Alexander Krings
NCSU, Botany Department
Garner Hall, Box 7612
Raleigh, NC 27695
Phone: 919-515-2700
Fax: 919-515-3436
Email: Alexander_Krings@ncsu.edu Alexander_Krings@ncsu.edu

Represents: Botanical Scientific Community
Term Expires: 09/30/2015
Governor Appointed

Mr. David Hyatt
President/General Manager
Panoramic Farm, Inc.
3110 Tarlton Mill Road
Marshville, NC 28103
Phone: 704-233-4600, Cell: 704-622-3822
Email: david@panoramicfarm.com

Commecial Plant Production Industry
Effective 10/1/2013
Term Expires: 9/30/2017
Commissioner Appointed

Mr. Jonathan T. Lanier, Esq.
NCDA&CS Legal Affairs
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001
Phone: 919-707-3010
Fax: 919-715-3559
Email: jonathan.lanier@ncagr.gov

NCDA&CS
Effective: 6/4/2013 Expires: 09/30/2015
Commissioner Appointed

 


 
Plant Conservation Program Support Staff
Plant Ecologist: Rob Evans - Email: Rob.Evans@ncagr.gov
Permits and Research: Lesley Starke - Email: Lesley.Starke@ncagr.gov
Ginseng Data Technician: Nancy Stewart - Email: Nancy.Stewart@ncagr.gov
PCP Administrator: David Welch - Email: David.Welch@ncagr.gov
Plant Industry Director: Vernon Cox - Email: Vernon.Cox@ncagr.gov
Plant Pest Administrator: Phillip Wilson - Email: Phil.Wilson@ncagr.gov
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Property & Construction Division: Kent Yelverton - Email: Kent.Yelverton@ncagr.gov
Mailing Address: 1001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001
Phone: 919-807-4366 Fax: 919-733-0999
North Carolina Department of Justice
Assistant Attorney General: Barry Bloch - Email: bbloch@ncdoj.gov
Mailing Address: PO Box 629, Raleigh, NC 27602-0629
Phone: 919-716-6800 Fax: 919-716-6755

 

 

Bridget Lassiter, PhD - - Weed Specialist
Mailing Address: NCDA&CS Plant Protection Section
1060 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1060
Physical Address: 216 West Jones Street, Raleigh NC 27603
Phone: (919) 707-3749; FAX: (919) 733-1041