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All LP-Gas (propane) installations in North Carolina must be in accordance with the North Carolina LP-Gas Law and
Regulations. The requirements of this safety standard include, but are not limited to:

() All LP-Gas containers must be maintained as required in the National Fire Protection Association Standard 58
(NFPA 58), 2014 Edition, the LP-Gas Code, including being properly painted to prevent corrosion, being in
sound condition, and being requalified if more than 12 years old and so marked and visible. OPD requirements
apply in North Carolina.

(2) Installed or stored containers will be upright and be on stable footing to prevent tipping over.

(3) Containers not connected into service will have the service valve plugged or the regulator capped, or, if the valve
is the Acme-thread type, the valve will not be plugged but may have a dust cap.

(4) All containers will sit on concrete, asphalt, brick, solid wood blocks treated to prevent rotting, or masonry blocks
or in a container, such as a “milk crate,” to avoid contact with the ground and to provide a stable footing.

(5) Containers shall not be stored in any building, booth, tent, or unventilated vehicle. However, containers having a
maximum LP-Gas capacity of 5 Ib. may be used inside buildings for public exhibitions or demonstrations. If
more than one such container is located in a room, the containers shall be separated by at least 20 ft. Containers
must be removed from the enclosure when not in use. Routine preparation of food is not considered to be a
demonstration or exhibition.

(6) All containers filled in place will be located so the fill valve is 10 feet from any ignition source, or is separated
from any ignition source by a vapor-proof barrier to provide 10 feet of separation. If the container is filled only
when ignition sources are shut down, the separation may be reduced to 5 feet. Relief valves must be at least 5 feet
from any ignition source.

(7) All valves, hoses, hose connectors, and piping material will be suitable for LP-Gas service. Hoses must be
marked as LP-Gas approved. Hose is not approved for installation in a building, per the NC Fuel Gas Code.

(8) All piping shall be properly supported and all piping and hoses must be protected from damage.

(9) All dispensing operations must comply with NFPA 58 and must be conducted only by those trained to do so, with
proper documentation available for review.

(10) Cylinders awaiting use, exchange, or sale must be in a secure cabinet and meet the requirements for protection
from vehicles.

The above requirements, and any others which may be applicable, will be enforced by NCDA&CS LP-Gas inspection
personnel and appropriate fire inspection personnel. Do not ask a gas supplier to violate the rules.

Questions about these rules may be directed to a supplying propane company. Or you may contact the NCDA&CS
Standards Division by telephone at 919-707-3231 or by e-mail at standards@ncagr.gov.
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