Equine Event Permit FAQ
Horse owners can apply for interstate health permit
Download N.C. Equine Animal Event Permit
Equine Event Permit Information
1. Is the Equine Passport Permit Program a mandatory program? The Equine Passport Permit Program is a strictly voluntary program designed as a convenience for horse owners who frequently travel out-of-state with their equine.
2. Is there a penalty for not obtaining an Equine Passport Permit? Because the Equine Passport Permit Program was designed as a voluntary program, there is no penalty for not obtaining an Equine Passport Permit.
3. What is the cost of the Equine Passport Permit? There is a $5.00 processing fee per permit. This fee is due upon receipt of the initial application, as well as for each subsequent application submitted.
4. What information is required in order to process my Equine Passport Permit? In order to obtain an Equine Passport Permit you must complete and send in the following information: Application for Equine Passport Permit, copy of a valid health certificate (no greater that 30 days old), copy of valid EIA (Coggins) paper. Pictures of the horse(s) for whom the permit(s) are being issued are also required. These pictures should show full right side, left side and front views of the horse (from the tips of the ears to the hooves). Microchips and tattoo numbers are also acceptable forms of identification; however, not mandatory. Owners who use microchip numbers as a means of identification on the permit are responsible for providing a microchip reader.
5. How long is the Equine Passport Permit valid? The Equine Passport Permit is valid for six months, unless the EIA (Coggins) paper expires within that six months. If the EIA paper expires within that six-month period, the permit will only be valid to the date of expiration on the EIA paper.
6. What states are participating in the Equine Passport Permit Program? The following state are participating in the Equine Passport Program: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. In states not participating in the program, it will still be necessary for the owner to obtain a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection prior to movement.
7. Is the Equine Passport Permit required for travel within North Carolina? The Equine Passport Permit is not required for travel within North Carolina; however a copy of a valid EIA (Coggins) paper is required.
8. Where should I send my Equine Passport Permit application? Your Equine Passport Permit application should be mailed to the NCDA&CS Veterinary Division, 1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1030.
9. Who can I contact if I would like to obtain an application for or have additional questions about the Equine Passport Permit Program? If you would like to obtain an application for or have additional questions about the Equine Passport Permit Program please contact the NCDA&CS Veterinary Division at (919) 733-7601.
The application can be downloaded or obtained by calling (919) 733-7601.
Download N.C. Equine Animal Event Permit (requires Adobe Acrobat reader)