Livestock Brands Packet
A brand is not accepted if: 1) contains a number; 2) because of shape would
be difficult to read when affixed to the animal; and 3) is a close likeness to
another registered brand. If practical, a brand shall be located on either hip
to the rear of the hip bone. In any event, the brand shall be easily read from a
side or top view of the animal.
PLEASE RETURN YOUR CHECK FOR $25.00 MADE PAYABLE
NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE &
AND THE APPLICATION FORM WITH YOUR DESIGN TO:
NC DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE & CONSUMER SERVICES
1030 MAIL SERVICE CENTER
RALEIGH, NC 27699-1030
LIVESTOCK BRAND REGISTRATION
In accordance with Chapter 80, Article 8, of the General
Statutes of North Carolina, as adopted in 1975, I hereby make application to
register a livestock brand or mark*. A $25.00 recording fee, which includes the
cost of a certified copy of the recording, is enclosed.
I am the owner-lessee of approximately ____________________acres
of land in ___________________township, ____________________county, and own
_____________________head of livestock.
Signature Name of Farm or Ranch
Name (Typed or Printed) Date
Address City State Zip
*Give a full description of your mark or brand and make a
drawing of it in the space provided below. The drawing must be a minimum of 3
inches in its smallest dimension, horizontal or vertical. The brand is to be
applied in a location where it can be easily read from a side or top view of the
animal. The preferred location is on either hip to the rear of the hip bone.
Please state the location where the brand will be applied.
(Drawing of Brand or Mark)
SECTION .0400 - LIVESTOCK
BRANDING .0401 APPLICATION FOR BRAND REGISTRATION (a) An application for a
brand shall be accompanied by an exact likeness of the brand desired for
registration. This likeness shall be a minimum of three inches in its smallest
dimension either horizontal or vertical. (b) An application for a brand shall
specify the exact location on the animal where the brand will be located.
History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 80-61; Eff. April 1, 1984. .0402
STYLE AND LOCATION OF BRAND (a) No brand shall be accepted for registration
(1) contains any numbers; (2) because of shape would be difficult to read
when affixed to the animal; or (3) is a close likeness to another registered
practical, a brand shall be located on either the right or left hip to the rear
of the hip bone. In any event, the brand shall be easily read from a side or top
view of the animal. History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 80-61; Eff. April
Registration and Protection of Livestock
purpose of this Article is to discourage livestock theft by allowing for the
voluntary individual registration of brand marks for certain
§ 80-58. Definitions.
(a) "Board" - The term "Board"
means the North Carolina Board of Agriculture.
(b) "Brand" - The term "brand"
means an identification mark permanently affixed into the hide of livestock by a
hot iron or an extremely cold brand known as a "freeze brand."
"Commissioner" - The term "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture
of the State of North Carolina.
(d) "Livestock" - The term "livestock" means
cattle, horses, ponies, mules, and asses.
(e) "Person" - The term "person"
means an individual, firm, company, association, partnership or
§ 80-59. Responsibility and authority of Commissioner of
Agriculture; application for registration; transfer of ownership of
The Commissioner shall record livestock brands and maintain a
record of such brands pursuant to this Article. Such records shall be public and
shall be prima facie evidence of ownership of livestock which is properly
branded under this Article. The Commissioner shall authorize such agents within
the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, as he deems
necessary to implement this Article. Any person desiring the exclusive use of a
brand shall make application to the Commissioner on forms prescribed by the
Board. The transfer of ownership of a brand registration may be done only at the
written request of the brand registrant of record. The Commissioner shall
receive a fee of ten dollars ($10.00) for recording such transfer.
80-60. No brands duplicated.
No brand shall be registered that is a
reasonable facsimile of another registered brand or that will likely be confused
with another brand registered under this Article.
§ 80-61. Rules and
The Board shall have authority to promulgate reasonable
rules and regulations for implementation of this Article which shall include,
but not be limited to, the location of and the size of brand marks.
80-62. Fees for recording.
The Commissioner is authorized to collect a
fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for the recording of each new brand, or for
re-recording of each brand, and shall issue one certified copy of each brand
recording to the holder of said brand. Duplicate certificates of registration
may be issued by the Commissioner upon payment of a fee of two dollars ($2.00).
Revenues collected pursuant to this Article shall be deposited with the State
Treasurer to the account of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and
§ 80-63. Records to be kept of sales and slaughter.
Persons or agents selling or bartering or exchanging branded livestock
in the State of North Carolina shall provide the purchaser or new owner with a
bill of sale showing a reasonable facsimile of the brand on any and all
livestock having a brand as defined in this Article. Such bills of sale shall be
prima facie evidence of transfer of ownership of branded livestock. Slaughter
facilities in the State of North Carolina shall affix to their normal records of
receipt of livestock a reasonable facsimile of the brand on any branded
livestock received by them. Such records shall be maintained for at least 12
§ 80-64. Defacing of brands prohibited.
No person may
change, conceal, deface, disfigure or obliterate any brand previously branded,
impressed, or marked on any livestock, or put his or any other brand upon or
over any part of any brand previously branded or marked upon any livestock, and
no person shall make or use any counterfeit of any brand of any other
§ 80-65. Re-recording.
Every brand recorded under this
Article, in order to remain effective, must be re-recorded with the Commissioner
during the tenth year from its next previous recordation. Each person having a
brand registered in the State of North Carolina shall be notified in writing by
the Commissioner that said brand must be re-recorded to prohibit its
disenrollment from the record of such brand maintained by the
§ 80-66. Violation a misdemeanor.
Any person who
violates any provision of this Article or any rule or regulation of the Board
promulgated hereunder shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.
AGRICULTURE-VETERINARY DIVISION TO2: