SB 1217 Interagency Group Membership

Senate Bill 1217 (Session Law 1995-626) was ratified in June of 1996.

The membership directive for the SB 1217 Interagency Group is included in Section 18 (b) as follows:

"The interagency group shall consist of two representatives from each of the following State agencies: the Division of Soil and Water Conservation, Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources; the Division of Environmental Management, Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources; the Department of Agriculture; and the Cooperative Extension Service. The General Assembly encourages the Natural Resources Conservation Service, United States Department of Agriculture, to provide two representatives from its agency to participate fully as members of the interagency group."

Please note that the Division of Environmental Management referred to above is now the Division of Water Resources in the Department of Environmental Quality.

Current membership on the SB 1217 Interagency Group includes:

NCDEQ-Division of Water Resources

Christine Lawson, Chair
Marlene Salyer

Christine.Lawson@deq.nc.gov
Marlene.Salyer@deq.nc.gov

NCDA&CS -Division of Soil and Water Conservation

Michael ShepherdMichael.Shepherd@ncagr.govSam EdwardsSam.Edwards@ncagr.gov

<u>USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service</u>

Josh Spencer <u>Josh.Spencer@usda.gov</u> Aaron Shwarts <u>Aaron.Shwarts@usda.gov</u>

NCDA & CS-Agronomic Division and Environmental Programs Division

Willie Howell Willie.Howell@ncagr.gov
Joseph Hudyncia Joe.Hudyncia@ncagr.gov

NC Cooperative Extension

Dr. Stephanie Kulesza
Dr. Mahmoud Sharara

sbkulesz@ncsu.edu
msharar@ncsu.edu