NORTH CAROLINA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION DRAFT MEETING MINUTES

June 27, 2024

Teams Meeting

Commission Members	Guests Online	
John Langdon, Chair	Jessica Davis	Brandy Myers
Billy Kilpatrick	Paula Day	Nancy McCormick
James Lamb	Lorien Deaton	Eric Pare
Brian Parker	Anthony Dowdle	Ken Parks
George Teague	Christopher Dreps	Heather Reichert
Barbara Bleiweis	Lindsay Edwards	Jennifer Roach
Patrick Baker	Lisa Fine	Matt Safford
Commission Counsel	Kristina Fischer	Michael Shepherd
Phillip Reynolds	Melanie Harris	Hannah Smith
Guests Online	Julie Henshaw	Rachel Smith
Annette Adams	Brandon Higgins	Josh Vetter
Cayle Aldridge	Kori Higgs	Marybeth Watkins
Amanda Sand	Tom Hill	David Williams
Angie Quinn	JD Jorgensen	Randy Willis
John Beck	Jennifer Harrison	Vivien Zhong
Brandon Higgins	Jessica Perrin	Julia Hardy
Stuart Brown	Jessica Trotman	Bryan Evans
Anganette Byrd	Shelby Kaplan	Rob Baldwin
Sabra Cahoon	Chris Love	Ann Coan
Brad Connell	Elise McLaughlin	Tyler Hodge
Eddie Culberson	Rick McSwain	
Kristy Dail	Millie Langley	

I. CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Langdon called the meeting to order at 7:10 p.m.

II. PRELIMINARY: Chairman Langdon charged the Commission members to declare any conflict of interest, or appearance of conflict of interest, that may exist for agenda items under consideration, as mandated by the State Ethics Act. None were declared

III. BUSINESS:

- Approval of Agenda: Chairman Langdon asked for approval on the agenda. Commissioner Teague moved to approve the agenda and Commissioner Bleiweis seconded. Motion carried.
- 2. Consideration of Streamflow Rehabilitation Assistance Program (StRAP) Application Approvals:

Chairman Langdon called upon Mr. Matt Safford to present the proposed StRAP allocation. Mr. Safford shared the prepared presentation that is attached as Attachment 2. Chairman

Langdon asked for clarification on the applicant types. He encouraged districts to be part of future applications. He would like to see more districts apply in future rounds. Chairman Langdon also asked that future applications include a description of the level of involvement of districts so that Commission has good understanding of who is receiving funding.

Commissioner Teague asked whether funds must go through a district, and Mr. Safford responded that the authorizing legislation has no such expectation.

Mr. Safford described the projects that the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has offered to provide funding out of the funds available for the Flood Resliency Blueprint. He introduced Stuart Brown with DEO.

Mr. Brown stated that DEQ is excited for the opportunity to cooperate with the Division to fund additional stream projects. The authorizing legislation for the DEQ funding requires DEQ to hire a contractor directly for stream debris removal. The Farm Act (Senate Bill 355) passed the General Assembly and includes language that would authorize DEQ to contract with a state agency for debris removal. The Farm Act still requires the Governor's signature.

Commissioner Teague moved to approve the proposed allocation and Commissioner Bleiweis seconded. Motion carried.

Chairman Langdon asked Mr. Safford to calculate the total length of stream and area of each river basin to help the Commission better understand the scope of each project relative to the basin size.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS: Chairman Langdon asked for any public comments.

V. ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 8:17 pm.	•
David B. Williams, Director	Allie Dinwiddie, Recording Secretary
Division of Soil & Water Conservation, Raleigh, N.C.	

These minutes were approved by the North Carolina Soil & Water Conservation Commission on ...