# **Poultry License Dealer Registration Application**

# North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services - Veterinary Poultry Health Programs



1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1030 Phone: (919) 707-3250, opt. 2 or (919) 707-3365 Fax: (919) 733-2277 Email: vetpoultry@ncagr.gov

Instructions

For license requests please complete all	sections. If additional space is neede	d, please attach sheet a	nd number item.				
Poultry Health Programs Attn: Dealer Registration Veterinary Division NCDA&CS 1030 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1030	License fees shall accompany the application.  Make checks or money orders payable to NCDA&CS.  NO APPLICATION WILL BE ACCEPTED WITHOUT A SIGNATURE.  In accordance with North Carolina General Statute 106-542, I understand that my approved application is valid between July 1, 2024 and June 30, 2025.  Print Name:						
					Signature:	Date: _	
				Applicant Information			
Licensee / Farm / Business Name	Premise Addre	ss (911 address where	birds are located)				
City	County	State	Zip				
Phone Number	After Hours Contact Number	E-Mail Address					
Check if Business/Mailing Addre	ss is different than Premise Address, o	and provide Business/M	ailing Address below:				
Application for license to operate or	ne of the following in the state of	North Carolina					
New Application Rene	ewal, Permit #						
Hatchery Type (\$25.00 flat fee, selec	t all those that apply)						
Chicken Turkey	GamebirdDuck	Other:					
Dealer Type & Fee							
Chick Dealer (\$10.00 fee)	Hatching Egg (\$10.00 fee)	Poultry/Ratite (no fe	e)				
Estimated Number of birds on	the property						
\$ Total amount enclosed/sub	omitted with application to NCDA	&CS*					

\*Please note, any application received without enclosed payment will be considered Null & Void, with the exception of poultry/ratite only dealers, who can email the completed document to vetpoultry@ncagr.gov.

# **Poultry License Dealer Registration Application**

# North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services - Veterinary Poultry Health Programs

Health Programs
1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1030

Phone: (919) 707-3250, opt. 2 or (919) 707-3365 Fax: (919) 733-2277 Email: vetpoultry@ncagr.gov



# Categories requiring licensure by NCDA&CS Veterinary Division via this application:

## 1. Hatchery

#### **Definition:**

- Any establishment that operates hatchery equipment for the production of baby chicks (poults, goslings, etc.)
- Licensure required only if more than 500 chicks (or poults, etc.) per week are being hatched.

## **Requirements:**

- Every hatchery shall keep such records of operation as the regulations of the Department of Agriculture may require for the proper inspection of said hatchery. The records of operation shall consist of a permanent record showing the name and address of the breeder flock from which all eggs received, together with the number of eggs and date received. A permanent record of all hatching eggs and baby chicks sold must also be maintained. This is to include number birds/eggs in transaction, bird/egg breeder flock(s) of origin, date of transaction, and name and address of purchaser.
- Per § 106-543, "All baby chicks [and] turkey poults... sold or offered for sale shall originate in flocks that meet the requirements of the National Poultry Improvement Plan as administered by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services..." It is incumbent upon chick dealers to be able to provide proof of such compliance upon request by the NCDA&CS.

#### 2. Chick Dealer

#### **Definition:**

Any person, firm, corporation that buys baby chicks or turkey poults and sells or offers them for sale

## **Requirements:**

- Every chick dealer or jobber shall keep such records of operation as the regulations of the Department of Agriculture may require for the proper inspection of said dealer or jobber. The records of operation shall consist of a permanent record of all purchases and sales that consist of 100 or more birds, each record to include: type of transaction (i.e. purchase or sale), date of transaction, number of chicks and/or number of turkey poults in transaction, and name and address of second party in transaction.
- Per § 106-543, "All baby chicks [and] turkey poults... sold or offered for sale shall originate in flocks that meet the requirements of the National Poultry Improvement Plan as administered by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services..." It is incumbent upon chick dealers to be able to provide proof of such compliance upon request by the NCDA&CS.

# 3. Hatching Egg Dealer

## **Definition:**

- Any person, firm or corporation that buys hatching eggs and sells or offers them for sale
- Licensure required only if more than 250 hatching eggs per month are being sold.

## Requirements:

- Every hatching egg dealer shall keep such records of operation as the regulations of the Department of Agriculture may require for the proper inspection of said dealer.
- Per § 106-543, "All...hatching eggs sold or offered for sale shall originate in flocks that meet the requirements of the National Poultry
  Improvement Plan as administered by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services..." It is incumbent upon
  hatcheries to be able to provide proof of such compliance upon request by the NCDA&CS.

# 4. Poultry/Ratite Dealer

#### **Definition:**

Any person who sells or offers for sale to the general public live poultry or ratites. Live poultry or ratite dealer does not include persons
who sell on their own premises live poultry or ratites that were raised on the same premises.

## Requirements:

• A poultry or ratite dealer shall keep records of all purchases and sales of poultry and ratites, showing the date of each purchase or sale, the number of birds involved in the transaction, and the name and address of the seller or purchaser. A poultry dealer shall also keep records of any disease testing performed on poultry/ratites under his control that are offered for sale. Purchases, sales, and health records must be available for examination upon request by the Department and shall be kept for three years.